Lose It!

 The days of eating on the run, has finally caught up with me. I have gained nearly 15 pounds in the past 2 years. There’s a closet full of clothes I cannot fit into.  At first I denied my weight gain. I was combative with  friends and family members who jokingly commented on my rounding face. “You’re not as thin as you used to be either,” I responded.

Yet when I look at all the clothes in my closet that I can no longer fit, probably more than half , and health issues Ive never had before, I know I have to face the problem. But I need a partner. It doesnt have to be a person just something that will hold me accountable.

To this end Im trying out a free application for my I-phone, named Lose It.  I cant afford a trainer.  It asks for my current weight, then my goal weight, gender, height and birthdate.  Then I selected a plan to lose 2 pounds a week. According to the Lose It, I have a “daily calorie budget” of 1120 and if I stick to the plan I should achieve my target weight by November 15, 2009.

Photo from www.coutureinthecity.com/


It seems simple enough. You add the foods you eat during the day, by finding them from a drop down menu, and Lose It configures the calories. One problem I ordered a medium coffee light and sweet and couldn’t exactly find that in my search, which forced put in small or large.  The large coffee with milk and sugar is 45 calories, 45 milligrams of sodium, 3 grams of sugar, 8 grams of carbohydrates and 3 grams of protein.  At least I got some protein out of it.

The app calculated how many calories I have left, 1075 more calories to go and hardly any exercise, except for the two  flights of stairs to class.  I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

