Five Guys Burgers and Fries in Hauppauge

https://i2.wp.com/images.food2.com/Food2/blog/2009/03/five-guys-sign.jpg

According to the Five Guys Burgers and Fries website, “there are over 250,000 possible ways to order a burger at Five Guys.”

If you want a wholesome, gigantic and juicy burger, Five Guys Burgers and Fries is the place. It’s a franchise and has 300 locations in more than 25 states. The closest Five Guys to the Stony Brook Campus is on Veterans Highway in Hauppauge, which is about  a 15 minute drive from campus.

I went to Five Guys over the weekend. I was visiting my boyfriend and some friends up at Binghamton University and I went to lunch at Five Guys. I was so excited to hear that they had a location right near Stony Brook.

burger 2One thing that is great about the burger place is that the menu is so simple. Your choices are burgers, fries, and hot dogs. You can specialize your burger to your liking. They have 15 different condiments and toppings to make the perfect burger. Toppings range from lettuce and tomato to jalapeno peppers and grilled mushrooms.

It’s a very casual place. The white and red color scheme makes it have a retro feel. You place your order, pay and then wait for your number to be called. The customer can watch their burgers being made behind the grill counter.

If you order a hamburger, cheeseburger  bacon hamburger or bacon cheeseburger be prepared to get two huge patties on your bun. I didn’t know that when I ordered and I barely finished the burger. If your not extremely hungry or maybe want to eat a normal size portion I would recommend getting the little burger, which is only one beef patty.

burger4

Their fries are made from Idaho potatoes and are very fresh and crisp. You can choose from two fry styles: Five Guys Style or Cajun Style. I had the Five Guys Style and they were tasty. Just like the burger the portion size of the fries was also huge.

Also, something very unique about this place is they have a self-serve section of roasted peanuts that their customers can scope a small container of peanuts and munch on. The peanuts are free so scope some up and eat them while you wait for your burger.

Be prepared to come to Five Guys with an empty stomach because their huge portions will leave you stuffed and craving another visit!

Five Guys Burgers and Fries: 601 Veteran’s Highway, Hauppauge, 631-265-0335,  http://www.fiveguys.com/

Photo:http://images.food2.com/Food2/blog/2009/03/five-guys-sign.jpg

1 Comment

  1. I just went to a Five Guys tonight! I was really suprised how non-chain it felt. It reminded me of the type of place that my grandfather woulld have gone to when he was young. I was very pleased. I wonder if most of the locations share very similar interiors. Check out my blog http://www.free48.wordpress.com!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

