Journalist or Paparazzo?

What is a journalist? Wikipedia says: “A journalist is a person who practices journalism, the gathering and dissemination of information about current events, trends, issues, and people while striving for viewpoints that aren’t biased. Journalists put the information in their own words, making it creative in their own way so it will catch the reader’s or viewer’s attention.”

So what is a paparrazo? “Paparazzi is a plural term for photographers who take unstaged and/or candid photographs of celebrities caught unaware.”

But what if I want to be a journalist and catch my readers attention with photos of celebrities caught unaware? Can I then be a photojournalist? Wikipedia says no, because “…photojournalism, […] is undertaken at press conferences, red carpet affairs and other events where there is an expectation and desire that the subjects will be photographed.”

Here’s my weekend experience: On Friday I went to Manhattan and saw Sarah Jessica Parker and Kim Cattrall from “Sex & the City” at the film set. I was so excited and of course I filmed them and took a lot of photos. With me there was a huge crowd of girls with cameras and some men who, I guess, have never seen a “Sex & the City” episode before. We were the fans, they where the paparazzi, but we did the same thing.

So I hope I can proudly present you my video and become a serious journalist in the future.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

