What is the Future of Journalism?

As a senior in the Journalism program at Stony Brook University, the most common question I’m asked is, “aren’t you excited, you’re almost done?!” Well, not exactly. I can’t help but wonder if I’m going to get a job.

After doing some research and just checking out some Web sites, I came across this article; “Senators ponder the future of journalism,” Los Angeles Times, May 8, 2009.Within this article it states that “Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.) called the hearing because he sees newspapers as an ‘endangered species,’ one that has traditionally provided the vast bulk of investigative and public interest reporting.”

I don’t know about anybody else, but I enjoy picking up a newspaper in the morning and reading it throughout my day, whether its at breakfast, on the train,or even in between classes. Is the end of newspapers nearing?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

